A note on #NaHaiWriMo

I am giving up on doing National Haiku Writing Month. This is not because I cannot come up with haiku to the prompts–a silly notion–writers write. I am stopping it because I find the people who administer their Facebook page to be unwelcoming.

The site gets free content and lots of traffic based on writers posting haiku there, but does not wish the writers to post links to the blogs we write except for once in a post that gets lost in the shuffle. It’s hard to find new sites to follow this way or to find any kind of community, so I’m withdrawing my participation. I think that writers deserve a credit that links to their work every time they post. I support sites and projects that support writers and community, like Carpe Diem Haiku Kai. Writers should write and support each other. We all face the blank page together. Rant over. Haiku in Peace.

11 thoughts on “A note on #NaHaiWriMo

    • Not at all. I was finding it unwelcoming, but then realized I was also finding it disrespectful. Writers need to stand up for themselves and for each other. I plan to remove the link I have on my site to theirs, too.

  1. Think it’s understandable. I really couldn’t get into the Facebook page aptmoshere…I do enjoy Carpe Diem…it is a shame that there are not more communities of that high of a calabre.

    • Agreed. I am so grateful for all the people I have met through Carpe Diem! I’m a little behind on reading posts but hoping to have some time to catch up soon–I have some stuff going on right now.

I love to hear what you have to say.

